No Solarez Necessary: Legit Ding Repair on the Road

Now that we’ve arrived in a proper small surf town in Mexico, we found a gem of a ding repair shack right on the beach.  I’m glad we didn’t get around to repairing my board with Solarez yet (the mediocre lazy man’s ding repair).  Considering I don’t have the patience for and never learned the art of ding repair, I leave it to the professionals.

An awesome local named Och looked at my board and said it would only cost 30 pesos to repair it.  That’s less than $3 US.  Amazing!

Och has a few signs along the main drag

Och has a few signs along the main drag

Ding Repair sign

Apparently Puerto Escondido is the land of snapped boards.  It’s a fast hollow wave that can gets huge in the summer months.  It’s definitely considered more of an expert wave.  One of the Aussies staying in our hotel told us he already snapped two boards since he’s been here.  He’s been here for a month so two snapped boards in a month sounds pretty major.  No wonder they call the place the Mexican Pipeline.  In California I typically surf slower, more forgiving waves in Encinitas like Pipes, but Erik loves the pounding shore break since it’s heaven for a bodyboarder.

Hopefully I won’t snap my board in half after a fresh ding repair (or ever).

Och's workshop

Checking out the excellent repair job

Checking out the excellent repair job

In front of Och's Ding Repair Shack

In front of Och’s Ding Repair Shack