How the West Was WON…

West Side

West Side

As you may already know, we are both live music fanatics. A couple of months ago, we decided to buy tickets for How the West was Won.

What is How the West Was Won, you ask? Well, I think the photos and video will do it more justice, but it’s basically an awesome lineup of west coast rappers with Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, The Game, Xzibit, etc.

You can see more info here: http://www.stubhub.com/how-the-west-was-won-tickets/

It was a cultural experience to say the least.  We got there a bit late and waited in a long ass beer line (the only place that hadn’t run out of beer yet).  We found our row when the Game was performing.  I have to say I was impressed.

I was mostly there to see Snoop and Ice Cube, but the Game was entertaining.  The Verizon Ampitheater in Irvine is pretty massive and we had seats just in front of where the steep lawn area started.

The security cracked me up.  I was the designated driver for the night so I just drank water.  When I bought the bottle of water, the woman took the bottle cap from me explaining, “Because of the venue, we have to keep the bottle caps.”

Being somewhat curious and a little naive I asked why.  She replied, “Because people fill them back up and throw them into the crowd.  Getting hit with a full bottle does a lot more damage than getting hit with an empty one.”

Great…if I knew it was gonna be that kind of party…

Anyhoo, everyone seemed to be having a good time and just enjoying the music.  Between the Game and Ice Cube, Erik noticed a fire behind us.  I looked up and there was a little white kid with the look of evil in his eyes (like one of the kids out of the original Children of the Corn) twirling around a t-shirt lit on fire.

Yikes.  I thought, hopefully this is just a dumb kid on drugs and the fire will go out pretty quick, but NOPE.  He kept finding other things to light on fire.  The security crew stood around like a deer in the headlights and pretty much did nothing for a while but stare and look scared.  Most of them looked like they were young inexperienced kids who had no business working security at an event like this.

Barney Fife
Finally, one of the security guards went up and stomped the fire out, and that was it.  Talk about a shit show.

My #1 reason for going to the show was to see Snoop, but to be honest I was more impressed by Ice Cube.  I’m a bigger fan of Ice Cube than I was before the show.

Ice Cube

We’ll be seeing Snoop at a music festival again soon so we’ll see if that show is any different.

I have to say, it was my first concert that was all rappers and it was really entertaining.  Besides the long beer lines and security kids that looked like a bunch of Barney Fifes, it was pretty awesome.

Today I didn’t even have to use my AK
I got to say it was a good day